Champions Trophy-2017 : Team India squad announced for Champions Trophy

Team India squad for ICC Champions Trophy-2017

The Indian team has been selected for the Champions Trophy following the instructions of the CoA formed by the Supreme Court of the BCCI. Opener Gautam Gambhir and bowler Harbhajan Singh have not been picked in the team this time. Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma will open in this tournament and Ajinkya Rahane will be in the team as a back-up player. Suresh Raina is not selected for this tournament.

The team is as follows:

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.

Yuvraj Singh has got the place in this 15-member team. India is the defending champion of this trophy. Team India is in Group B and this group also has Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

The batsmen are Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh and Kedar Jadhav. There was an election between Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan and Manish Pandey in the remaining slots of one of the batsmen, The two have been selected for this except Gautam Gambhir.

R Ashwin, Hardik Pandya and R. Jadeja will play as a all-rounder. Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav will play as fast bowlers. MS Dhoni is in the team in the category of wicketkeeper batsman.

Ajay Kashyap
A writer and cricket lover

Leave a Reply